Reviews

CHECK AVAILABILITY

Lovely getaway - Rating 4/5

From start to finish we enjoyed our stay...Our bedroom was full of character and the enormous bathroom was well appointed with a large double bath AND double shower...Great food, friendly staff, made for a lovely weekend away.

Response

Dear Nicholas,Great to hear your enjoyed your weekend away with us, and we appreciate your recognition of our friendly staff and great food. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again, please do check our special offers and we\'ll be doing another Secret Escapes promotion in January.Warm regards, Liz Smailes, General Manager

Reviewer:Nicholas C | Mon 2nd Dec 2019 | 5 days ago


Welcoming, comfortable and safe - Rating 5/5

It was a great place to stay - easy to find and very peaceful. The food in the restaurant in the evening was excellent and the breakfast- served in a breakfast room in the morning was equally good. A good night's sleep as well!

Response

Dear Janet,We\\\'re very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and all the priorities for a relaxing stay were met. It was lovely meeting you and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Liz Smailes, General Manager

Reviewer:Janet B | Sun 1st Dec 2019 | 6 days ago


Looking for a comfortable, friendly place to stay in Wharfedale? Look no further, plus the food is right up there - Rating 5/5

You know, if heaven is half as good, I'll take that. See Tripadvisor for my main review

Response

Dear Mr Bailey,Wow, that is quite the glowing review and it is wonderful to hear that a short stay left such a positive impression on you. We look forward to reading the full review on TripAdvisor and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future.Warm regards, Liz Smailes, General Manager

Reviewer:Mr Mark B | Mon 25th Nov 2019 | 1 week ago


Delicious locally sourced menu served in cozy surroundings- Rating 5/5

With a warm welcome, great service, delicious meals, cozy fire lit bar, pretty bedroom and friendly attitude to customer service, I would happily recommend this hotel. Great location for dale walks too. The bathrooms would benefit from an update. We had a very enjoyable stay in Kilnsey.

Response

Dear Mrs Wilkinson,How lovely to read your review and thank you for that heartfelt recommendation. We also appreciate your comment on the bathrooms and this will be attended to in January when we close for 3 weeks of renovations. It would be a pleasure to welcome you all back in the new year for more Dales walks and delicious food.Warm regards, Liz Smailes, General Manager

Reviewer:Tracy w | Mon 25th Nov 2019 | 1 week ago


Short break at Kilnsey - Rating 5/5

We love a short break in Yorkshire and often visit. We haven't stayed at The Tennants Arms before and it was wonderful. We were very warmly welcomed by Tom who showed us to our room and helped with our bags. All the staff were very friendly. The food was excellent and we will be back for more. Kathryn &Andrew

Response

Dear Mrs Caine,As a frequent visitor to Yorkshire, we truly appreciate your glowing review and are happy to hear we\\\'re a new discovery for you. We look forward to welcoming you back next time and please do look out for our special offers on our website when making your next booking.Warm regards,Liz Smailes, General Manager

Reviewer:Kathryn C | Tue 19th Nov 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Tennants Arms Hotel on the 15th November.The hotel is lovely and the room was beautiful and spotless.The lady that checked us in and was working the next morning was absolutely lovely, very warm and welcoming.We ate in the hotel that evening and the food was superb, as was breakfast the next day.Well worth the 5 hour drive to get there from Suffolk and we will definitely return.

Response

Dear Mrs Nicholson,Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay experience with us, and for acknowledging our friendly staff. We equally appreciate the long journey some of our guests take to enjoy our beautiful location and we look forward to welcoming you back another time.Kind regards, Liz Smailes, General Manager

Reviewer:Cheryl N | Mon 18th Nov 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Room for recovery- Rating 5/5

Stayed for 2 nights with my mum. We received a warm and friendly greeting. Mum's bags carried as we were taken to the room. The room was clean and comfortable. We ate here on both our nights and the food was great with good portions. Rachel couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. She even went out of her way to get some bread my mum likes for her toast. Most of all she stopped and listened to my mum and was able to answer her questions. Can't wait to come back. 10/10

Response

Dear Mrs Dunn,I am so pleased to hear we were able to provide the respite you and your mum were looking for. We look forward to welcoming you back to create more new memories during your time with us.Warm regards, Liz Smailes, General Manager

Reviewer:Catherine D | Sun 17th Nov 2019 | 2 weeks ago


TENNANTS ARMS HOTEL- Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic 2night stay.The room was upgraded for us which included the jacuzzi sunken bath.All staff were friendly and professional,the breakfast/evening meals were excellent.We will visit again soon.

Response

Dear Mr Pycroft,It was an absolute pleasure meeting you and your wife, and lovely to hear you enjoyed the jacuzzi experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for more Wharfedale walks and discoveries.Kind regards, Liz Smailes, General Manager.

Reviewer:Mark P | Fri 15th Nov 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Birthday Weekend - Rating 4/5

Loved our weekend in the Yorkshire Dales. Our room at the Tennant Arms Hotel was large and comfortable with an enormous bathroom. Very friendly staff. Three star accommodation, but given it another star due to the amazing Sunday lunch.

Response

Dear Mr Williams,Thank you for choosing to celebrate the birthday weekend with your family at our hotel. It\\\'s wonderful to hear you discovered the beauty of the Yorkshire Dales on our doorstep and we also greatly appreciate your acknowledgement of our friendly staff and delicious cuisine.It would be our pleasure to welcome you back one day.Kind regards,Liz Smailes, General Manager

Reviewer:Mark W | Tue 12th Nov 2019 | 3 weeks ago


A great stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed for two nights and found the Tennants a warm and cosy place with very friendly staff and wonderful food.The room allocated didn't have a walk in shower, but our room was changed straightawsy to one that did - and a free upgrade. That's customer service for you.

Reviewer:John P | Sat 9th Nov 2019 | 4 weeks ago


A great stay - Rating 5/5

We were warmly welcomed to a lovely pub. Our room was comfortable and exceptionally clean. Breakfast in the wooden pannelled room was excellent. The food overall was amazing. A special mention for the triple cooked chips and, the corned beef hash and charcoal mushroom burger. The pub is in a great location, the setting is beautiful. Will definitely return.

Response

Dear Debbie,As one of the first guests to enjoy our new seasonal dishes, It\'s great to read that two new items on our winter menu received a special mention in your review. I am very glad you enjoyed your time with us and discovered our beautiful location. We look forward to your return.Kind regardsLiz Smailes, General Manager

Reviewer:Debbie H | Sun 3rd Nov 2019 | 1 month ago


Weekend break at Kilnsey - Rating 4/5

Lovely place. Friendly and warm welcome. Lovely room and bathroom. Great food. Fab location.

Response

Dear Melanie,Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time with us and discovering our \"fab location\". We couldn\'t agree more and hope to welcome you back one day!Kind regardsLiz Smailes, General Manager

Reviewer:Melanie H | Tue 29th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Birthday Treat - Rating 5/5

Had a really enjoyable stayRoom was clean &comfortableStaff very helpful &friendlyBreakfast was very goodLookforward to a return visit

Response

Dear Anne,Thank you for choosing us to spend time with us on your birthday treat. Your review has been shared with the team and we truly appreciate your acknowledgement of their friendly and professional service.It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for more celebrations and discoveries in our stunning location.Kind regardsLiz Smailes, General Manager

Reviewer:anne w | Mon 28th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Very satisfied - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Warm, cosy, lovely food and the owner is the chef too. Will be staying again in the near future

Response

Dear Gary,What a lovely summary of your time with us - all the right ingredients for a relaxing break in the Yorkshire Dales.Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.Warm regardsLiz Smailes,General Manager

Reviewer:gary s | Sat 26th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Great location- Rating 3/5

Perfect location for walkers although no amenities nearby. Lovely staff, very welcoming. The room was comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of hot water- the surfaces and door handles did feel a little tacky and could have done with a wipe( an oversight, I’m sure). Our stay included an evening meal- this was beautifully cooked but catered more towards fine dining rather than home cooked fayre- we found this quite limiting and anyone with food intolerances would struggle with choice even though the menu says to ask. There were things on the meals that I was unable to have and rather than offer an alternative they were just omitted from the plate- this left a main meal consisting of a fillet of sea bass(which was lovely but an expensive meal!)So, on reflection we wouldn’t book a meal deal stay but if you like fine dining then it’s the place for you.

Response

Dear Helen,Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us and I am pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us.That said, it is disappointing for us to read your comments on the food choices, as we do cater to all dietary requirements and I am given to understand that it was your preference not to have substitute items on the sea bass dish, and you specifically instructed our staff that your wish was to have just sea bass and mashed potato. Hence your comment is disheartening for our team who strive to ensure all our guests are happy.We pride ourselves on created home-cooked food prepared from scratch, and have established a reputation as one of Wharfedale’s premier countryside dining destinations. The Tennants Arms Hotel has launched a new culinary approach under the direction of its owner and Executive Chef Tom Garland-Jones. Local Kilnsey trout features on the menu, along with seasonal dishes to create an experience of eating, drinking and discovering the Dales at its most casual and delicious.Should you choose to visit us again, please do let us offer alternative choices for your meals and I\\\'m sure you will not be disappointed.Kind regardsLiz Smailes, General Manager

Reviewer:Helen S | Fri 25th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


A welcome break in a beautiful part of Yorkshire.l - Rating 5/5

We were immediately made welcome by Liz, who booked us in and showed us to our attractive room. The hotel is spacious and has a really traditional feel with attractive bar areas and a very pleasant breakfast room with expansive views. We enjoyed our meals, which were plentiful and carefully prepared. There is a good choice on the menu, and how nice to see some French wines on the wine list.

Response

Dear Mr Treherne,It\'s wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the character of the building, as well as our culinary choices.It would be our pleasure to welcome you back one day and we truly appreciate you taking the time to review your time with us.Warm regardsLiz SmailesGeneral Manager

Reviewer:John T | Sun 20th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Celebrating my 60th birthday.- Rating 5/5

Thank you for a lovely 4 day break. Staff were absolutely lovely. Food was nice to. Nothing was to much trouble. Will certainly be coming back sometime next year....

Response

Dear Mr Herne,It was our pleasure to host you and your wife for four memorable days. Your feedback has been shared with the team and we truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!Kind regardsLiz SmailesGeneral Manager

Reviewer:Mr H | Wed 16th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Memorable weekend- Rating 4/5

20 of us arrivedFriday, left Sunday. The Tennants team couldn’t do enough for the group - very welcoming and accommodating to us all, including the dogs ????. Hearty food all weekend, lovely clean rooms and plenty of hot water.Great location with stunning scenery on your doorstep ????

Response

Dear HelenYour group were an absolute pleasure to host and lovely to see such camaraderie between you all. Wonderful to hear you all enjoyed your time with and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime.Warm regardsLiz Smailes,General Manager

Reviewer:Helen N | Mon 7th Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


Mr DougHunt- Rating 5/5

I very much enjoyed my stay with you .your staff were most welcoming .Guests that I spoke with said very much the same.I will stay again and would ask that you keep me informed of any winter break offers you may promote etc.Regards to you all Doug Hunt.

Response

Dear Mr Hunt,Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Your comments have been passed on to the team and we truly appreciate your feedback. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back and you have been added to our emailing list, as requested.Warm regardsLiz SmailesGeneral Manager

Reviewer:Mr Doug H | Fri 27th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Walking weekend - Rating 5/5

We had a super stay at the Tennants Arms this weekend. A group of ten of us arrived and were welcomed by Liz .Lovely rooms and a super meal . Could thoroughly recommend

Reviewer:Lucy W | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


September break - Rating 5/5

This hotel is a great base from which to explore the Dales.We had a lovely few days - the room was comfortable, the team were lovely and the food was outstanding.Definitely worth a return visit!

Reviewer:Andrew F | Fri 20th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


One night stay - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed the stay. Stayed in Littondale room, which was a large spacious room with separate large bathroom. Very clean room.Evening meal was very good quality and value was great.Staff very helpful and pleasant.Great location for exploring Wharfedale.

Reviewer:Grant G | Sun 8th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


What a gem - Rating 5/5

Set in a fabulous location with great views. From the moment we walked through. The front door we were made to feel most welcome by Liz the general manager who took the time to ask about our day and plans and personally settled us in our rooms. The bar area is cosy, the restaurant served the most delicious food that even pleased the mother-in-law-law! The service was delightful, not fussy but engaging. Breakfast was really good to, catering to the needs of everyone. Definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Margaret C | Wed 4th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

The room was quiet,comfortable and tastefully decorated with a breathtaking view.Very comfortable night‘s sleep.the Foodis exquisite.I had lamb one night and bass the next -both cooked to perfection.Not overpriced. Owner is quietly welcoming and attentive without being intrusive.Staff friendly and engaging .

Reviewer:Emma H | Sun 1st Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Attending a wedding in the Dales - Rating 5/5

We had a very comfortable stay at the hotel . Quiet peaceful location and the perfect place to unwind. Highly recommend.

Reviewer:mrs frances w | Mon 26th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Stay for nearby wedding - Rating 4/5

Very accommodating. Lovely location. highly recommended. Excellent breakfast. Good selection of beers in the bar.

Reviewer:John W | Mon 26th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Ideal location to Kinsly fishing park- Rating 5/5

Fantastic hotel,fantastic staff every one so friendly n helpful,bedrooms large with fantastic views every thing spotlessly clean,breakfast every thing you want can’t fault any thing at all I’d rate it 150%

Reviewer:Elsie G | Wed 21st Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Fabulous Stay - Rating 5/5

I had a lovely two night stop over at The Tennants Arms Hotel, the staff are very friendly, the room was warm and comfortable.I had a meal the second night that which was delicious, I can highly recommend the triple cooked chips! The only slight down point was on arriving Sunday evening I was told meals are stopped being served at 7.30 and it is a Sunday Lunch Menu, I felt this could have been mentioned when booking.

Reviewer:Sue H | Wed 14th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Room and food were excellent.Staff were friendly,lady on reception charming,Only downside was getting ice in my white wine,We will be back,

Reviewer:Mary C | Fri 2nd Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


By far best accomodation so far. - Rating 5/5

Finally a place we will use as a base everytime we visit the dales. What grabbed us the moment we set foot inside was how immaculate everything was and how friendly every member of staff we met were. The room we had was spacious and very comfy. The food was out of this world. The beer, always close to my heart, was also excellent. Well done to the Tennant arms. What we came away realising was that all the staff we met actually cared and that came across in their level and standard of service. Well done to all and thankyou for a wonderful stay.

Reviewer:Gillian N | Thu 1st Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Our stay at the Tennants Arms was an absolute delight. The food is quite superb, and considering the quality, very reasonable. Our room and especially the bathroom were fabulous. Highly highly recommended.

Reviewer:shaun a | Wed 31st Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Another enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Another enjoyable overnight stay. Rooms are lovely, staff are very friendly and the Sunday Beef Roast was as good as I’ve ever had, well worth the trip alone.

Response

Dear Gorden,Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, and as a frequent traveller we greatly appreciate your endorsement of our accommodation, culinary and service offering.We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.Regards, Liz Smailes, General Manager.

Reviewer:gorden b | Tue 30th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Tennant arms hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel has now been taken over since the last time we were there and there was a vast improvement. We had a lovely bedroom and the staff were exceptionally friendly.The food was very good.We would definitely recommend a visit.

Response

Dear Mrs Watt,It was a pleasure to welcome you and your husband, and even better to hear you noticed a \\\"vast improvement\\\" since last year. Your comments have been passed on to the new ownership and management team and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.Kind regardsLiz SmailesGeneral Manager

Reviewer:Mrs Jeanette W | Thu 25th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Comfortable base in prime walking area- Rating 4/5

Newly refurbished room. Good well cooked breakfast. Friendly staff. Walking from the door on the Dales Way and Mastiles Lane ( Drovers Road ). Reduced but adequate Sunday Night Menu. Pub part of the building all you could expect of a traditional pub. Good choice of Draft beers.

Response

Dear Mr Hill,Thank you very much for sharing your experience and comments with us. Knowing that you are a frequent visitor to the Yorkshire Dales we greatly appreciate this recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day to enjoy more walks and our selection of beers.Best regardsLiz SmailesGeneral Manager

Reviewer:Peter H | Tue 23rd Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 4/5

I booked this break for us as my husband wanted to go fishing at the Kilnsey Trout farm next door. We had been before and enjoyed it. We found that the owners had changed from previous but were pleasantly surprised that it was even better than last time. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and ate on the second evening. The food was very good.

Reviewer:Sheila H | Fri 19th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely hotel- Rating 5/5

Very nice place. Friendly staff

Response

Dear Mrs Hampshire,Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we do hope you will return one day to discover a little more of Kilnsey\'s appeal and beautiful location in Wharfedale.RegardsLiz Smailes,General Manager

Reviewer:Sandra H | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Exemplary service - Rating 5/5

We booked for two nights but found the room and the customer service of every member of staff to be exemplary. So much so we booked a third nights stay.The food was of a very high quality with great presentation. Clean and very friendly. We will return. Highly recommended

Response

Dear Tony,It\'s lovely to hear you enjoyed staying with us and found our service, room and food to be \"exemplary\". Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.If there is anything we can assist with in your travel arrangements, please don\'t hesitate to contact us through our website.In the meantime, please feel free to share your photos and follow us on our social media pages at facebook and instagram. #EatSleepDiscover.Kind regardsLiz SmailesGeneral Manager

Reviewer:tony j | Sun 14th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


July 2019 stay - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyable stay at the Tennant Arms, the room was spacious and beds comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was top quality. We had been touring for 10 days prior to our stay and had the best food of our trip at the Tennant, reasonably priced, piping hot and top quality, would recommend to anyone who stays.

Response

Dear David,Wow, that\\\'s quite the compliment to hear our food was the best of your 10-day trip. There are many wonderful places to eat in the Yorkshire Dales, so we know how to value this compliment. Our hotel owner is also the Executive Chef - Tom Garland-Jones, so we do pride ourselves on the culinary choices and accommodation with friendly hospitality.I recently joined the hotel as General Manager and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back one day. If there is anything we can assist with in your travel arrangements, please don\\\'t hesitate to contact us through our website.In the meantime, please feel free to share your photos and follow us on our social media pages at facebook and instagram. #EatSleepDiscover.Kind regardsLiz SmailesGeneral Manager

Reviewer:David M | Thu 11th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


3 day break in the dales - Rating 5/5

Looking for a hotel in Wharfedale we looked into the Tennants Alms. We read other reviews which said it had been vastly improved by the new owners so thought we’d give it a try. On ringing the hotel they were able to match rates we had seen on other web sites which made it a very reasonable price. The room was adequate for our needs and had been recent decorated.bedding and towels were spotless and front of house staff friendly and welcoming. Food was of a good standard, nicely presented and portions were large. We enjoyed our time there and wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again or recommend to friends.

Response

Dear Mr Wright,We\'re very glad to hear you decided to \"give us a try\" and weren\'t disappointed. It was our pleasure to welcome you to The Tennants Arms Hotel and thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. I recently joined the hotel as General Manager and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back one day. If there is anything we can assist with in your travel arrangements, please don\'t hesitate to contact us through our website.In the meantime, please feel free to share your photos and follow us on our social media pages at facebook and instagram. #EatSleepDiscover.Kind regardsLiz SmailesGeneral Manager

Reviewer:phillip w | Thu 11th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely short break - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel..... Great choice! room was spotless with fresh clean linen. Food was exceptional for both evening dinner and breakfast, we had fillet steak and sea bass. There was also a great place next door with nature trail and fishing for all the family.

Response

Dear Mark,Thank you for choosing The Tennants Arms Hotel and I am very glad to hear you enjoyed our dining choices. Our hotel owner is also the Executive Chef, so we do pride ourselves on exceeding guest expectations with an excellent culinary and accommodation offering. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share recommendations to other travellers. I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. In the meantime, please feel free to share your photos and follow us on our social media pages at facebook and instagram. #EatSleepDiscover.Kind regards,Liz SmailesGeneral Manager

Reviewer:Mark C | Sun 30th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Fishing Trip- Rating 5/5

Ideal venue for our fishing trip, staff very helpful and nothing to much trouble.Excellent value for money and will definitely use again.Thanks.

Response

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tennant\'s very soon.

Reviewer:stephen r | Sat 22nd Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Absolutely brilliant- Rating 5/5

Spotless comfy room, really amazing food and great breakfast, all the staff were super friendly. Great location for hiking and exploring the Dales.

Response

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tennants in the near future.Rachel

Reviewer:Louise G | Wed 19th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Wedding stop over - Rating 5/5

An overnight stay for an evening wedding supper. The Tennant Arms was an option and proved to be a very satisfactory choice. A family run Inn with a natural instinct for making you feel special. The bedroom was scrupulously clean and the breakfast fit for a King (we didn’t need to eat again until returning home that evening. The bar had a great selection of beers, Scotches and Vodkas as well as a friendly chattyatmosphere. An unforeseen bonus, our friends stayedat other Hotels in the area and paid three times as muchas we did!! Fabulous place well done, we will be back.Brian - Wetherby

Response

Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you and your wife. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.Rachel

Reviewer:Brian M | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff,excellent room and very tasty food

Response

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.Rachel

Reviewer:David P | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Booked at short notice as I wanted to fish in kilnsey and it was a break in the drive down from Scotland. Lovely welcome from staff/owner. Room was very comfortable soft bed which I was pleased to see for my damaged back. We spent a couple of hours in the bar sampling the ale and also had a meal very good,but not many veggie choices.The breakfast was delicious good choices but would liked some more veggie food on offer. The location is great for fishing and walking and will definitely be back.

Response

Thank you for your review. I hope you had a safe onward journey and look forward to seeing you again soon.Rachel

Reviewer:Nick W | Sun 16th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

I hike and this hotel is an ideal location. The staff are genuinely welcoming and friendly and as a lone traveller that’s Alastair important. The hotel rooms are very good and the food is exceptional. I highly recommend paying a visit.

Response

Thank you for your review. we look forward to seeing you again soon.Rachel

Reviewer:Gordon B | Thu 13th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

Perfect for the short break I had. Lovely staff, superb food and the room was great. I would recommend the hotel and I will be going back,

Reviewer:Gordon B | Sun 9th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


AMAZING! - Rating 5/5

Myself and my family including my (now husband’s) family and bridal party stayed here 2 nights. I cant really put into words how accommodating Rachel and her team were. She looked after me and my bridesmaids brilliantly and the rooms were stunning! The little touches to the room for myself and my husband was so thoughtful. A definite recommendation to anyone to stay overlooking the beautiful Dales. We are hoping to return to the same room for our 1 year anniversary!

Response

Thank you for your very kind words. it was a pleasure to help you on your special day and look forward to welcoming you back next year (if not sooner)Rachel

Reviewer:| Mon 3rd Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

This is our third stay at the Tennants Arms. Each time different owners. We had an excellent stay our hosts could not do enough.The food was extremely good our compliments to Tom!!

Response

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.Best wishes Tom

Reviewer:Barbara W | Thu 30th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Tennants arms- Rating 4/5

The Tennants arms is really beautiful place, with glorious surroundings and has really friendly staff who will do anyyhing for you. The food is amazing also eat both night and it was wonderful

Response

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back.Best wishes.Tom

Reviewer:lynn t | Mon 27th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Friendly and cosy stay- Rating 4/5

Very accommodating and good evening meal. Would stay again.

Response

thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the TennantsBest WishesTom

Reviewer:Linsey C | Sun 12th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Couldn’t have been better. Lovely staff, great food and good beer. Room was also spot on. Thank you for a great stay.

Reviewer:Chris W | Sun 28th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Great - Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel and great value. Yes i would go back.

Response

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.Best WishesTom

Reviewer:Phil T | Sun 28th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Easter break - Rating 5/5

Big thank you to tom and family .. the room was spotlessly clean the food was well cooked and very tasty at very reasonable prices .. we was made to feel comfortable and had a great stay exploring parts of north yorkshire

Reviewer:mrs Christine J | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

Absolutely fantastic place to stay.The staff, accommodation, food and location just wonderful.This place is a hidden gem.We’ll definitely be back and would 100% recommend this place to all.Rachel and Tom, this place is a credit to you both.

Reviewer:Joanne M | Fri 19th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Great stopover - Rating 5/5

A brilliant friendly welcome, great food and pleasant room. Nicely appointed en-suite with powerful shower -just the ticket after a long day walking and cycling. (brilliant pair of grumpy but very curly feathered geese at the bottom of the crag - made us laugh!)

Reviewer:Liz G | Fri 19th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


- - Rating 5/5

Lovely setting, excellent hosts, great food.

Response

Thank you for your kind words Mr Jephcote. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming back to the Tennant\'s in the near future.RegardsRachel

Reviewer:Robert J | Mon 8th Apr 2019 | 8 months ago


Pefect - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely weekend, great staff, lovely room and fantastic food. It's 5 ☆ from us. Thank you.

Response

Thank you for taking time to leave a review and for your kind words! We hope to see you again in the not so distant future!

Reviewer:Emma a | Mon 25th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


A good weekend - Rating 4/5

We received a very warm welcome. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. Our room/bed was comfortable. The meals we had were excellent, evening meals with locally sourced produce well cooked and served. lovely English breakfast cooked to order so nice and hot. The surrounding countryside is wonderful , good for walking or cycling, nearby market town of Grassington worth a visit, and plenty more places of interest further up the dale

Response

Thank you for your kind words and really glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Tennants. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewer:sally e | Mon 25th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


Fantastic hosts and location - Rating 4/5

Our children booked this getaway as a christmas gift. Rachel and Tom have recently taken over and we have had a great weekend.The hospitality was great.They could not do enough for us.The food was superb with a wide choice on the menu and something for everybody.The room we stayed in was beautifully appointed (Littondale) and spacious with fabulous views over the dales.It was a pleasure to be visitors at the beginning of this new chapter for the Tenant Arms and we are very much looking forward to returning again in the future.Would highly recommend a stay in this super friendly Inn in the heart of the yorkshire dales

Reviewer:mrs l | Mon 18th Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


Amazing hotel!! Well worth the travel- Rating 5/5

We drove an hour and half from where we live just to stay here and I am not exaggerating when I say this gorgeous hotel provided the best food I have ever tasted. Me and my partner came here as part of a Christmas present and it really did not disappoint. The staff really care about their customers and are passionate about their jobs. The rooms are beautiful and the food as previously stated is amazing. We had three courses which were all as sensational as each other and had a perfect bottle of wine to compliment. We had a great nights sleep and the breakfast the next morning which was as beautiful as the evening meal set us up for our busy day. Absolutely amazing hotel, staff, food, drinks and rooms, we have already recommended to family and friends and we will definitely be returning!

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks, it means a great deal. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.regardsThe team at the Tennant Arms

Reviewer:Chloe A | Mon 18th Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


Tom - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Tennants Arms many times over the years New Years Eve 2018 was the best by far.The improvements Tom &his family have made in such a short time are spotlessly clean rooms with nice crisp white bed linen, lovely clean towels and overall compared to what it used to be 100% cleaner and more welcoming. Cannot wait to return at the end of January after refurb and new great food menu. A credit to you Tom and your lovely family. Good Luck and thank you. Peter &Teri

Reviewer:| Wed 2nd Jan 2019 | 11 months ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 3/5

Our stay was very comfortable &staff were helpful &welcoming. We hope the planned renovations bring the hotel up to date &to a standard worthy of the price charged.

Reviewer:Andy R | Wed 2nd Jan 2019 | 11 months ago


Tennants arms - Rating 4/5

Very friendly,helpfull,room very nice

Reviewer:Jacqueline B | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Two night stay in a beautiful room with an even more beautiful view of thedales....stunning!Plenty of choice for breakfast. Very well presented, freshly prepared and served with a smile. Unfortunately,the new owners were not yet serving evening meals but if that's the standard, can't wait to go back!See you again soon Tennant Arms and thank you for a lovely weekend

Reviewer:JILL C | Mon 10th Dec 2018 | 12 months ago


Fantasticplace - Rating 5/5

Had a fantastic stay at the Tennant Arms Hotel.Lovely family run hotel with new owners who couldn't have been friendlier.Really went out of their way to make us feel at home.Excellent rooms and a lovely breakfast and very friendly barman.The family have very ambitious plans for the Hoteland we would love to go back and see the results.Good Luck

Reviewer:Rob W | Mon 10th Dec 2018 | 12 months ago


Lovely Rustic Country Hotel - Rating 5/5

Myself and partner stayed at the Tennants Arms for one night on Friday 16th November and loved the place. Its a very traditional country pub/hotel situated in the Yorkshire Dales overlooked by Kilnsey Crag.We stayed in the Wharfedale suite which is the four poster room. very comfortable with a nice view over the Dales.Kilnsey is about 4 miles north of Grassington, but there is a beautiful walk along the riverbank into town.We travelled with our dog, who was very welcome in the bar area which serves good, traditional pub fayre.Only disappointment was that we didn't stay a second night, but will definitely be returning in the future.

Reviewer:Kelvin M | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Only the best - Rating 5/5

Excellent room and the service was excellent.Can recommend the food. Good value and plentiful. We had a very enjoyable and hope to visit again sometime.

Reviewer:eric l | Fri 16th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


A great stay - Rating 4/5

Had a good few days away food was very good room very good staff friendly

Reviewer:mr g | Mon 12th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


A great stay - Rating 4/5

Had a good few days away food was very good room very good staff friendly

Reviewer:mr g | Sun 11th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


A very nice three night stay - Rating 5/5

I came with my friend for a well needed break. We received a very warm welcome - nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely and warm, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good- standard items provided. We loved the open fire in the bar and the menu was good - not extensive but good food. I am vegetarian so limited choice but there was a vegetarian option at each course. The building is old and quirky, which is what we liked about it. We would definitely come back

Reviewer:christine t | Fri 9th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


A Gem of a hotel in the Yorkshire Dales - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable stay, nothing was too much trouble for Chris and the staff. Open fires, and great food Our room was very comfortable, with a fabulous bathroom. Ideal location. Would highly recommend the Tennants arms, we will book again.

Reviewer:mrs karen c | Wed 7th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


nice place to stay- Rating 4/5

The food was lovely, the room was nice.staff was friendly.and hope you have a lovely day on your wedding you did every thing to make us welcome through out our stay.

Reviewer:james mc g | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Worth a stay - Rating 4/5

After a few teething problems, maintenance issues generally, we had an enjoyable stay for one night. Nice room, Good food, nice evening meal. Vegetarianbreakfast could be better i.e. Sausages, hash browns maybe? Coffee also tasted like it was instant. But nice pub and worth a stay.

Reviewer:MR P R | Sun 21st Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely and peaceful 2 nights away!- Rating 4/5

we had a lovely time at the Tennant arms. After just setting of straight from work (Whitby). We arrived at 7:40. Abit confuses as the person at the bar thought we was already there but to our attention they had upgraded us to a room at the front! So we was happy. The room was at the front with a lovely view. only fault was maybe the damp in the building and one of the spot lights was out of the socket. (This didn’t bother us as we used the side lamps) as for the damp. What can you expect it’s an very old country pub It’s hard to keep old buildings from having these sort of problems but to be honest it didn’t bother us!!.. on the morning we had breakfast. Was lovely and everyone who was in the breakfast room was lovely and we had a good chat. The lady who served us was nice warm and welcoming. My partner ordered the meaty breakky. Full English. He loved it. With a cup of tea and toast. I ordered an vegetarian breakfast which was beans. Eggs and mushrooms and tomatoes. to really finish this breakky it would of been lovely to have some veggie sasuages or a meat subsitute. Overall was lovely. we then had a lovely day out in Skipton on the first day and then went out for tea In Skipton with family. We got back and had been given fresh tea coffe milk and shampoo and wash which was lovely. On the 2nd morning of our trip my partner had full English again. Lovely! I had poached eggs on toast. Which was amazing!!! my partner just said that the toast was abit cold but due to being so busy it wasn’t a problem for us!!. We finished of breakky with cup of tea and then went to pack. we put our bags in the car and came back in to give the key back and let you all know what a nice time we had. Although when we came back in there was no one there. we tried the bar door but it was locked and it was past breakfast time so we left the key on the desk! Would of been nice to see someone as we was leaving but you was probably all busy busy busy! over all lovely 2 nights get away! Thanks x

Reviewer:amy p | Fri 19th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Tennant Arms - Rating 4/5

Excellent location. Good service. Excellent location for short stay.

Reviewer:MR P H | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


A good traditional country hotel! - Rating 4/5

We had a wonderful 2 night, mid weekbreak. Very relaxing, very friendly and the scenery has to be seen to be believed - quite breathtaking!Very comfortable room and the locally sourced lamb chops were the best I have ever tasted.The only improvement I would make would be to add muesli to the breakfast menu.

Reviewer:Arthur Waye u | Wed 3rd Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent value for money - Rating 5/5

Stayed here having bought a groupon deal .The room was superb with a large en suite bathroom.Staff were very friendly and welcoming food good and location beautiful.Very good value for money.

Reviewer:Bernice j | Wed 26th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic escape- Rating 5/5

Lovely location, great hosts and well presented.Amazing meals, wonderful atmosphere and dog friendly.Would highly recommend

Reviewer:wendy k | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Great food - Rating 4/5

Just stayed a couple of nights on a wowcher voucher. Room was cosy with a nice bathroom. Staff were all very pleasant and breakfasts were very good as was the evening meals. Tennant arms is situated in a nice spot close to some lovely walking.

Reviewer:mr les h | Fri 21st Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Quiet and relaxing break - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed a very relaxing 3 nights at the Tennants. Pete and Chris made us very welcome and clearly work hard to make the hotel work. Yes, there are areas that need refreshing and some decorating, but this all takes time and money, which i feel sure, in the fullness of time, will be done. The food was excellent and the portions plentiful. Compliments to the chef. Breakfast was also excellent and set us up perfectly for our long walks on the dales. We wish you every success for the future and feel sure it will be all you want it to be...

Reviewer:chris b | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Mrs - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay with great food and very nice staff. Our room was very comfortable and clean with a fantastic bath and shower. We had tea facilities in our room which was replenished every day

Reviewer:mrs g | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Short break - Rating 4/5

Had an enjoyable stay at the Tennants arms.The room was a good size and had a comfy bed and lovely big bath. Would have liked a shower curtain.The breakfast was good but we were a little disappointed with the evening meal.For the price we paid for the meal we were expecting more for our money.

Reviewer:mrs j | Sat 8th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We had another excellent weekend. Room with beautiful view was very comfortable and had stunning bathroom.Food and drink was also first class. All staff were helpful and friendly. Would recommend and definitely return.

Reviewer:Patricia C | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Our return to the Tennant Arms - Rating 4/5

We had a warm welcome from Chris.I took a photo that I had taken looking down at the Tennant Arms....superb!Enjoyed the best fish and chips for a long time. Great breakfast with locally sourced bacon and sausages .Thamk you

Reviewer:mrs y | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Hope to return some time... - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room, warm, friendly atmosphere, beautiful setting, and glorious food, what more could anyone want?

Reviewer:mr h | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Lovely idilic settings

Reviewer:bev c | Sat 21st Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Te nnants arms stay - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable two night stay, nice clean room, and good breakfast, and evening meals, good place to stay for tourists, would stay again.

Reviewer:mrs b h | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Walking weekend- Rating 5/5

I had originally booked the family room, but my partner’s son changed his mind about joining us. So I sent an Email to Chris &told him we’d only need a table for two for dinner. Chris acknowledged the Email &when we arrived gave us the option of the family room or a free upgrade to a deluxe double room with a roll top bath and the room had a great view of the Crag.Needless to say we accepted the upgrade.The pub is in a tremendous location with great all round views of the scenery.All the staff were very friendly &nothing was too much trouble.The meals were plentiful and delicious!!We will definitely be returning!

Reviewer:Steven H | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Our stay - Rating 4/5

We had a wonderful stay in the tennant arms hotel. Wonderfull surroundings. Peacefull and relaxing. Staff very helpful and friendly.Lovely meals in hotel. Breakfast was lovely anything you wanted was no trouble for them.Recommend this hotell

Reviewer:mrs j | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Tennant arms - Rating 4/5

A very nice area the food at the Tennent was excellent with a good selection of beers nice friendly staff not sure that the extra money paid for a lux room was worth it as no bulb in bed side light and four lights not working in bed room other that that it was good would recomend

Reviewer:mrs jean j | Thu 5th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Good Stay - Rating 4/5

We had a good stay at enjoyed our time there. Our room was spacious and clean and very comfortable. The only small setback with this room was that the washbasin plug didn't work and was, therefore, impossible to use.The staff were friendly, the beer was well kept and there was a good choice. The menu was very good and there were a good selection of meals available. The breakfast was well cooked and prompt.There were just a couple of minor things which would have made it perfect. I think someone could have let us know that our meals on Monday weren't as described on the menu but would come with fries and not hand cut chips, and in my case garden peas instead of mushy peas. That being said, it would not deter me from staying again which I hope to do in the near future.

Reviewer:mr bill d | Wed 20th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Pleasant stay in scenic location - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our overnight stay in Kilnsey. Such a lovely scenic place. Great breakfast with multiple choices. Very pleasant staff who were very understanding when we prefered a room with two beds and moved us to a lovely family room. A great base for travelling around the Dales. Would certainly consider returning here.

Reviewer:mrs susan s | Thu 7th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely country pub - Rating 5/5

Stayed at this countryside pub for 2 nights. It’s a perfect place to stop if you want to explore the dales. The meals was absolutely delicious. It’s clean, it’s tidy, it’s got character. Perfect if you want to relax or explore

Reviewer:d | Wed 16th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Great 3 night break - Rating 4/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our time in the Yorkshire dales and our stay at the Tennant Arms. Great food and very comfortable hotel

Reviewer:mrs m | Thu 10th May 2018 | 1 year ago


welcome given - Rating 5/5

Rooms clean. Food excellent. Good quality food used.

Reviewer:mrs w | Fri 4th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Enjoyable 3 day stay - Rating 4/5

Pleasant hotel with friendly staff, spacious room with nice view. Good food and easy access to walks on dales.

Reviewer:david s | Thu 3rd May 2018 | 1 year ago


In\' t middle o\' no where - Rating 5/5

Lovely place-peaceful with amazing views, great,fresh plentiful food, staff helpful and friendly. Stayed for one night, birthday treat upgraded to Warfedale room which was spacious with features such as four poster bed and a free standing bath over looking the beautiful dales. Thank you all.

Reviewer:n | Mon 30th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Tennants Arms- Rating 4/5

Enjoyable stay. Comfortable rooms. Good food. Will return.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs C | Fri 27th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Great stay with a warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Recently had a wonderful 2 night stay at The Tennants Arms in one of the recently refurbished rooms. The room itself was spacious and clean, and we could tell a lot of thought had been put into both the layout and decor. Huge bathroom with jacuzzi bath which we enjoyed using both nights. On the first night we ate in the dining room and took advantage of the 2 courses for £19.95 offer (a few pounds more for 3 courses). Good value and the food was good quality - very generous steak and a hearty beef roast. Breakfast in the mornings is served in the tea room with waitress service, eggs cooked to order. A decent breakfast. Hosts Chris &Pete made us feel welcome from arrival and ensured that we were fed and watered. I would recommend this hotel in the heart of the Dales as a great place to stay with the owners (and team) giving good service. Thank you for a lovely few days.

Reviewer:| Thu 26th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely two days - Rating 4/5

Lovely stay, food brilliant and plenty of it, staff very friendly, plenty of hot water and bath was amazing after a hard days walking, ideal for a base to walk from

Reviewer:joanne s | Wed 28th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We had a really enjoyable two night stay at the Tennant Arms ! The Staff were so friendly and accommodating We had our Dogs and felt very welcome. Great walks from the pub and outdoor seating to enjoy a glass or two On your return.The rooms were lovely with everything we needed plus amazing views ! The meals were delicious and we will definitely be back .

Reviewer:mrs a | Wed 28th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed in a twin bedded room on Sunday 25th March for 1 night, Pete the owner kindly took our bags up to our room, a welcoming bath as we had just done a 12 mile walk in the area, really comfy beds, we both had steak and ale pie which was fab, no room for sticky toffee pudding though!! Nice to chat to Chris and Pete in the bar in the evening with another couple we met in the bar. Fantastic breakfast, best sausages ever!! Great views from dining room and hotel. We will stay again soon. Thank you

Reviewer:p | Tue 27th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed in a twin bedded room on Sunday 25th March for 1 night, Pete the owner kindly took our bags up to our room, a welcoming bath as we had just done a 12 mile walk in the area, really comfy beds, we both had steak and ale pie which was fab, no room for sticky toffee pudding though!! Nice to chat to Chris and Pete in the bar in the evening with another couple we met in the bar. Fantastic breakfast, best sausages ever!! Great views from dining room and hotel. We will stay again soon. Thank you

Reviewer:p | Tue 27th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Tennant Arms review - Rating 4/5

Lovely locationFood was very good. Especially breakfastAccommodation not what we expected absolute surprise nice bedroom and bathroom.Had a quiz in the bar at night but didnt win

Reviewer:Brenda B | Sat 24th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


fantastic stay - Rating 4/5

Thanks for a lovely stay in a clean room. The beer was nice, the food excellent. Both landlords were fantastic. The walk was fun, we both said we will visit again.

Reviewer:mr m | Thu 22nd Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Delightful Stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 2 nights, loved the friendly atmosphere and felt very welcome straight away, a very homely feel. Our room was spacious, clean, with beautiful views, very comfy bed (one of the best nights sleep I’ve had for a while!) the jacuzzi style bath was perfect after a long day spent walking. As there aren’t any local shops nearby, might not be best for those without a car and on a budget but would still highly recommend for fellow travellers, who would like a bit of luxury and are looking for a nice place to wind down after long days out.

Reviewer:OLIVIA B | Thu 22nd Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Just back from a weekend break here - lovely spot ideally situated. The food is excellent and staff very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:mrs s | Tue 13th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely 2 Night Stay - Rating 5/5

Had a 2 night stay here and enjoyed every minute.From the wonderful room to the cosy bar at night couldn’t fault a thing .Staff friendly and helpful food really nice lovely location what more can you want.Chris and Pete and staff your doing a great job hope to be back soon.Thanks AgainSue &Mick

Reviewer:mrs c | Thu 8th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


one night stay - Rating 4/5

The hotel itself needs a little biot of TLC in some areas. The food was spot on, and the staff were friendly and helpful

Reviewer:Alan W | Tue 6th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


One night stay with breakfast - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay. We would definitely want to go again.

Reviewer:mrs s | Sat 17th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Valentines day stay in Tennant arms - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent stay on what has been one of our most memorable valentine day celebrations after 42 years married. The four poster bed in Wharfedale suite was a first. We thought we had booked the Wensleydale suite so were very impressed. You even managed to order us some challenging weather for our continued journey through Langstrathdale to Hawes in a blizzard.We were amazed at the number of guests in such a remote location midweek so your reputation must be paying off.Once again thank you for our break, Derek &Nancy.

Reviewer:C | Fri 16th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Reconnaissance for summer trip - Rating 5/5

A short break in preparation for a family trip in summer.We found a great welcoming hotel.Just what we needed.Looking forward to hearing from you &being back.

Reviewer:Joe H | Sat 10th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


2 night break - Rating 4/5

Lovely area,lovely staff,excellent food,room was not boutique style though as expected and there was cobwebs,bathroom was lovely. Overall had a lovely stay and would stay again and would recommend to friends and family

Reviewer:w | Sat 10th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Birthday treat - Rating 4/5

Thank you Chris &Pete for a lovely stay in 17th century building, comfortable, food delicious, plesant staff, looking forward to seeing you all again

Reviewer:mrs w | Tue 6th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Relaxing winter break in The Dales - Rating 5/5

A lovely, quirky pub/restaurant and hotel full of character. Ideally situated for exploring and walking in The Yorkshire Dales. The room was comfortable, the pub was warm and inviting with an open fire, the food was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. The owners are gradually refurbishing this gem and they deserve every success.

Reviewer:jerry b | Tue 30th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Brilliant Hospitality - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night and really enjoyed it. The evening meal was excellent and we enjoyed drinks in the cosy bar sitting next to a lovely fire. My husband said that the breakfast was one of the best he has ever had. We will definitely return.

Reviewer:j | Fri 26th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


lovely place - Rating 4/5

this hotel is very nice, lovely decor and very clean. The food was excellent and prices very reasonable. All the staff were very friendly . Will definitely being going back

Reviewer:miss c | Mon 15th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


WeekendBreak - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful stay did a littlebit of shopping in Harrogate and explored the dales good breakfast to start the day comfortable room big Thank You to all the staff for a lovely stay

Reviewer:yvonne w | Mon 15th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Fabulous hotel- Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay for New Year’s Eve in this little gem. The room was beautiful with a great shower and everything that you needed in amazing surroundings. We enjoyed a walk within the local area and drinks in the bar with the locals to toast for midnight. Breakfast was great and we were made to feel at home throughout our stay! We will defiantly be back!!

Reviewer:Katrina T | Tue 2nd Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


great place - Rating 5/5

A typical country pub with dogs allowed, just what we wanted. Clean, warm and friendly the hotel is in a perfect location for walking or visiting local towns. If a warm welcome and good food is what you're looking for this is the place to be.

Reviewer:g | Thu 24th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Tennant Arms - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, pleasant room, good food and beer. Very welcoming to the dog!

Response

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.Update My partner and I , are taking over the tenants Arm Friday 14th July 2017 . We have new exciting ideas , plus a fantastic Chef with a new menu using local suppliers . Good Yorkshire food , great ambiance we hope you call again soon so we can wow you once more . Chris & Pete.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael S | Wed 7th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

Had i not stumbled across an offer for the Tennants Arms online, I would never have considered visiting - let alone staying over. What a mistake that would have been. This is a lovely little hotel, steeped in history with amazing bedrooms and friendly down to earth staff. The food was great and the atmosphere warm and inviting. I would not hesitate to recommend to friends and really hope that i will get the opportunity to stay again.

Response

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.Update My partner and I , are taking over the tenants Arm Friday 14th July 2017 . We have new exciting ideas , plus a fantastic Chef with a new menu using local suppliers . Good Yorkshire food , great ambiance we hope you call again soon so we can wow you once more . Chris & Pete.

Reviewer:Paula Q | Mon 5th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay good value - Rating 4/5

Lovely rooms, food was very good.Cooked breakfast nice but limited cereals and fruit option.Staff and ambience excellent

Response

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.Update My partner and I , are taking over the tenants Arm Friday 14th July 2017 . We have new exciting ideas , plus a fantastic Chef with a new menu using local suppliers . Good Yorkshire food , great ambiance we hope you call again soon so we can wow you once more . Chris & Pete.

Reviewer:Derek B | Tue 23rd May 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely- Rating 5/5

Just spent 2 nights here was lovely. Room was very nice and breakfast was great kept us going all day. Had evening meal that was also very good. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Can't wait for our next visit

Response

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.Update My partner and I , are taking over the tenants Arm Friday 14th July 2017 . We have new exciting ideas , plus a fantastic Chef with a new menu using local suppliers . Good Yorkshire food , great ambiance we hope you call again soon so we can wow you once more . Chris & Pete.

Reviewer:Michelle R | Wed 3rd May 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely hotel would stay again - Rating 5/5

Warm friendly staff. Comfortable, pretty, well equipped room with lovely view. Fab dinner dinner and breakfast with efficient service and plenty of choice. Really could not fault this lovely hotel. Cant wait to go back!

Response

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.Update My partner and I , are taking over the tenants Arm Friday 14th July 2017 . We have new exciting ideas , plus a fantastic Chef with a new menu using local suppliers . Good Yorkshire food , great ambiance we hope you call again soon so we can wow you once more . Chris & Pete.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lisa R | Mon 1st May 2017 | 2 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic weekend at the Tennants, good service and nice food.Very pleasant staff with nothing too much trouble.Lovely weather added to our walking weekend.

Response

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.Update My partner and I , are taking over the tenants Arm Friday 14th July 2017 . We have new exciting ideas , plus a fantastic Chef with a new menu using local suppliers . Good Yorkshire food , great ambiance we hope you call again soon so we can wow you once more . Chris & Pete.

Reviewer:Barbara S | Mon 24th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


4.6
Very Good

127 reviews

5
63%
4
35%
3
2%
2
0%
1
0%